The Hume Fellowship provides financial assistance to young civil engineers, helping them to improve their professional skills with specialist study at an overseas institution. Applications are not open currently.

What's on offer

  • 1 scholarship up to $21,000

The Hume Fellowship was established in 1988 to award fellowships to Civil Engineering graduates. The Fellowships are financed from the estate of Harry Lancelot Hume FEngNZ, and gifted by his wife Henrietta.

It's intended to provide financial assistance to young civil engineers so they can further their professional skills through specialist study at an overseas institution. The overall aim is to advance the technical skills of the engineering profession within New Zealand.


To apply you must be a New Zealand citizen between the ages of 25 and 35, with a university degree in civil engineering.

How to apply

The basis of selection will be on:

  • the subject, the period and location of study proposed by the applicant
  • how the study programme will advance the engineering profession within New Zealand
  • demonstrated ability in their specialist field.

Your application needs to include:

  • a cover letter addressing the ‘basis of selection’ requirements above 
  • names and contact details for at least 3 referees to confirm your professional ability and character
  • your CV, including your qualifications, publications, awards and employment history
  • the estimated cost of your proposed study, and an indication of how additional funds will be raised, as you're likely to need more than the $21,000 scholarship offered

If successful, you'll need to submit interim and final reports to show the progress of your study. You will also need to return to New Zealand after your study is completed, for at least 2 years to share the technical skills you gained abroad. In some situations the Trustees may approve a limited period of overseas work experience before you return to New Zealand.

Past recipients

2017 - Shannon Wallis

2015 - Helen Kerr & Ethan Thomson

2011 - Courtney Groundwater

2009 - Kaley Crawford-Flett & Tim Taylor

2007 - Rebecca Nicholson

2005 - Steve Abley & Merrick Taylor

2001 - Katherine Hill

1999 - Robert Swears

1996 - Jenny Hart & Richard Cowley

1995 - Alison Wakelin

1994 - Andrew Shilton

1993 - Christine Spring

1991 - Peter Bourne-Webb

For more information, please get in touch.