Engineering students are the future of the profession. That's why we have a dedicated group to deliver student focused events and give Engineering New Zealand a student perspective on issues. Run by student volunteers, the group promote engineering and organise events at their tertiary institutions. If you're an Engineering New Zealand Student Member, you're automatically a member of the Student Engineers' Group.

Student Engineers Council

The Student Engineers' Group is represented and organised by a voluntary council of student representatives that come from tertiary institutions across New Zealand, and is headed by a National Chair. There are so many reasons why you should volunteer your time. As a Council volunteer you'll:

  • gain new skills, knowledge, and networks
  • develop your confidence and self-esteem
  • open yourself to new career prospects and opportunities
  • create a community of friends and peers
  • gain a greater understanding of the engineering profession
  • make the most of your Engineering New Zealand membership.

Volunteer positions last for a year.

Volunteer agreement   |  502.6 KB

Regional Chairs

Regional Chairs organise presentations, workshops, site visits, and networking events. They also:

  • provide leadership to Student Engineers' Branches
  • provide a report to include in the Engineering New Zealand Annual Report
  • represent students at events
  • attend regional branch meetings
  • recruit new committee members
  • liaise with us on funding and any other engineering issues.

National Chair

The national Chair represents students at both regional and national levels. They also:

  • work with the Student Engineers' Council to promote the programme’s value and relevance
  • provide advice and support to the Student Engineers' Council and regional committee members
  • assist with budgets and funding requests for events
  • represent students at Engineering New Zealand events.

Current Representatives

  • Alan Hemmings
  • Ashleigh Philpott - National Chair
  • Chris Harland
  • Isabelle Berliner
  • Janice Chin
  • John Duran
  • Joshua Parker
  • Mark Kiely
  • Patrick Leslie
  • Peroze Irani 
  • Phillip Brumby
  • Randula Herath Mudiyanselage
  • Rene Wootton
  • Sanmit Kaimal